OneChoice life insurance review 2026: who insures you
| Key fact | OneChoice |
|---|---|
| What OneChoice is | A trading name of Greenstone Financial Services NZ Limited, NZBN 9429047013582, not an insurer (OneChoice disclosure statement, prepared 3 Jun 2024, read 15 Aug 2026) |
| Owner | Greenstone Financial Services NZ Limited distributes and promotes the products. Greenstone's ultimate group ownership is not stated in the documents we reviewed |
| Licensed entity | Pinnacle Life Limited issues every OneChoice policy (OneChoice Life Insurance Policy Document, issue date 24 Oct 2021, read 15 Aug 2026) |
| Financial strength | The rating belongs to the underwriter, Pinnacle Life Limited: B+ (Good) from A.M. Best at the 15 April 2026 affirmation (Pinnacle Life financial strength, read 15 Aug 2026). OneChoice and Greenstone hold no rating of their own |
| What is underwritten | Life cover, with optional Serious Illness and TPD benefits, plus a separate funeral product (OneChoice life insurance, read 15 Aug 2026) |
| How you can buy | Direct, by phone or online, with no medical exams (OneChoice life insurance, read 15 Aug 2026) |
| Complaints scheme | Greenstone belongs to the Insurance and Financial Services Ombudsman scheme (OneChoice disclosure statement, prepared 3 Jun 2024, read 15 Aug 2026) |
| Policy wordings | OneChoice Life Insurance Policy Document, PDF, issue date 24 Oct 2021, read 15 Aug 2026 |
Neither OneChoice, Greenstone nor Pinnacle Life is on the panel of insurers QuoteHub's advisers arrange cover through, which is set out on our disclosure page. This page is market information from the companies' own published documents, not a recommendation, and no premium figures appear here.

Verdict (2026)
OneChoice is a legitimate, simply structured product issued by a licensed New Zealand insurer, and it suits people who want straightforward cover arranged over the phone without medical tests. The trade-offs are structural rather than hidden. The insurer holding your risk carries a grade below the advised market's. The sales channel can only discuss OneChoice products. The optional extras accelerate your life cover rather than adding to it. The life product uses stepped premiums that rise as you age. That makes it a specific product, not a bad one.
Pros and cons
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Issued by a licensed, Reserve Bank-supervised insurer, Pinnacle Life Limited | Your contract is with Pinnacle Life, and Greenstone does not guarantee its obligations |
| Death by any cause is covered from acceptance, with a stated 13-month self-inflicted injury exclusion | Underwriting can apply an accident-only first 12 months, or cap the benefit at $100,000 |
| No medical exams or blood tests, with health questions asked over the phone | The B+ (Good) underwriter grade sits below the advised insurers' A-range grades |
| Terminal illness pays early on a life expectancy of 12 months or less | The $10,000 funeral advance is an advance, so the final payout reduces by that amount |
| Serious Illness cover to $500,000 and TPD to $1 million are available | Both are accelerated benefits that reduce the life benefit, and both end at 65 |
| Greenstone discloses its commission and advice limits in plain terms | It will not compare its products against any other in the market |
Who is actually behind OneChoice
Three companies stand behind a OneChoice policy, doing different jobs. OneChoice is a trading name of Greenstone Financial Services NZ Limited, which distributes and promotes the products. The insurance is issued by Pinnacle Life Limited, a New Zealand insurer licensed by the Reserve Bank since 2013. Source: OneChoice Financial Advice Disclosure Statement, prepared 3 June 2024, read 15 August 2026.
The policy document is blunt about the consequence. Your contract is with Pinnacle Life, and "Greenstone is not a party to this contract and does not guarantee the obligations of Pinnacle Life". Source: OneChoice Life Insurance Policy Document, issue date 24 October 2021, read 15 August 2026.
The marketing line "backed by Hannover Re" describes reinsurance, not who insures you. Hannover Life Re of Australasia is Pinnacle Life's reinsurer, which is a normal risk-spreading arrangement, and its strength is not your insurer's rating. Source: pinnaclelife.co.nz/about-us, read 15 August 2026.
The rating that applies to your policy is Pinnacle Life's: B+ (Good) from A.M. Best, with a bbb- issuer credit rating on stable outlook, at the 15 April 2026 affirmation, read 15 August 2026, and confirmed on the RBNZ register. On the agency's own scale, B+ is the "Good" band, below the "Excellent" and "Superior" bands where New Zealand's large advised insurers sit. Ratings change, so re-check at purchase.
The same structure sits behind NZ Seniors. Both brands are Pinnacle-issued and Greenstone-distributed, per each brand's own website footer, read 15 August 2026. Our Pinnacle Life review covers the insurer itself.
What the OneChoice life policy actually covers
The life product is open to New Zealand residents aged 16 to 70, with cover from $100,000 up to $2 million depending on age and underwriting outcome. Source: OneChoice life insurance page, read 15 August 2026. The policy document caps the maximum benefit by age when cover starts.
| Age at commencement | Maximum life benefit |
|---|---|
| 16 to 44 | $2,000,000 |
| 45 to 49 | $1,500,000 |
| 50 to 54 | $1,000,000 |
| 55 to 59 | $750,000 |
| 60 to 70 | $500,000 |
Source: OneChoice Life Insurance Policy Document, issue date 24 October 2021, read 15 August 2026. From the same document:
- Death by any cause is covered, except death from intentional self-inflicted injury in the first 13 months of the policy, or of any increase.
- Terminal illness pays early on diagnosis of a life expectancy of 12 months or less.
- A $10,000 funeral advance can be paid quickly on death. It is an advance of the benefit, not an extra, so the final payout reduces by $10,000.
- Special terms are possible. Depending on your answers, an accident-only period covering the first 12 months, or a "maximum Policy Term" variant capping the benefit at $100,000, can apply. Either appears in your Policy Schedule, so read it.
Two optional extras exist: Serious Illness cover for four defined conditions, being heart attack, cancer, stroke and coronary artery bypass, up to $500,000, and Total and Permanent Disability cover up to $1 million. Source: OneChoice life insurance page, read 15 August 2026.
The detail that matters is that both are accelerated benefits, not standalone cover. The policy document states that any Serious Illness or TPD payment reduces the life benefit by the amount paid. Both options end at the policy anniversary after your 65th birthday. The Serious Illness option carries a three-month qualifying period for newly apparent conditions, and a number of cancers are excluded from the cancer definition. Advised policies commonly offer trauma and TPD as standalone cover that pays without reducing your life benefit. Understand that structural difference before comparing anything else.
The underwriting and pricing trade-offs
OneChoice's application is deliberately simple, with no medical exams or blood tests and health and lifestyle questions asked over the phone. Source: OneChoice life insurance page, read 15 August 2026. That is genuinely faster than fully underwritten cover, but it does not remove underwriting. It moves the underwriting into the questions you answer, and those answers determine how a claim is assessed later. Simplified questions are not a reason to give simplified answers.
One structural fact deserves plain statement, because OneChoice's funeral advertising emphasises level pricing. The life product uses stepped premiums, which "will increase each year as risk increases with you aging". Source: OneChoice Life Insurance Policy Document, read 15 August 2026. We publish no premium figures, but the structure itself is something to weigh over decades, not months.
The funeral product is a different design again: guaranteed acceptance at ages 18 to 79, accidental-only cover in the first 12 months, and OneChoice's own footnote that the total paid over a policy's life can exceed the cover amount, read 15 August 2026.
What the sales channel can and cannot tell you
Greenstone's own disclosure statement is unusually clear about the limits of its advice. Its staff "can provide financial advice only on whether the insurance products we offer may be suitable for you", cannot advise on other providers' products, and "will not compare the insurance products we offer with any other insurance products or services in the market". Source: OneChoice Financial Advice Disclosure Statement, prepared 3 June 2024, read 15 August 2026.
The same document discloses the economics. Pinnacle Life pays Greenstone a commission of up to 76.63% of each premium, level for the life of the policy, with staff performance commission capped at 5% of first-year premiums. Greenstone belongs to the Insurance and Financial Services Ombudsman scheme for disputes.
This is a lawful, disclosed model, and commission disclosure applies equally to advised channels, including the insurers QuoteHub's advisers work with. The narrow point is that a OneChoice call is a distribution conversation about one issuer's products, not a survey of the market. If you have already decided what you need, that may be enough. If not, the comparison work is yours to do before the call.
What the reviews measure
OneChoice displays a high published service score on its own site from a large number of customer reviews, alongside trusted-service awards across several years, read 15 August 2026. Read what those reviews measure. They are overwhelmingly about the purchase and service experience. That is a real signal about a real thing, but it is not evidence about claims outcomes, which is the moment life insurance exists for.
On claims, the honest position is a gap. No published claims statistics exist for the OneChoice-branded life product. The issuer, Pinnacle Life, publishes that it has paid 94.4% of claims made on its policies as at 25 May 2026, read 15 August 2026. That is an issuer-wide figure with no published denominator, stated here exactly as the insurer publishes it.

How OneChoice compares
OneChoice is a brand, so the row below names the insurer that carries its risk. Every rating is the insurer's own published disclosure for the named licensed entity, linked and dated. Price is not compared here.
| Brand or insurer | Licensed entity carrying the risk | Financial strength | Rating as at | How you can buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OneChoice (a Greenstone brand) | Pinnacle Life Limited | B+ (Good) (A.M. Best), disclosure | 15 Apr 2026 | Direct only |
| AIA New Zealand | AIA New Zealand Limited | AA (Fitch), disclosure | Date not published | Adviser or direct |
| Asteron Life | Asteron Life Limited | A+ (Fitch), disclosure | Date not published, on Rating Watch Positive from 5 Aug 2026 | Through an adviser |
| Chubb Life NZ | Chubb Life Insurance New Zealand Limited | A (Excellent) (A.M. Best), disclosure | Date not published | Adviser or direct |
| Partners Life | Partners Life Limited | A (Excellent) (A.M. Best), disclosure | 5 Feb 2026 | Through an adviser |
| Fidelity Life | Fidelity Life Assurance Company Limited | A- (A.M. Best), disclosure | 5 Mar 2026 affirmation | Through an adviser |
A brand never wears its underwriter's rating by accident, and it never has one of its own. A.M. Best and Fitch use different scales, so the letters are not interchangeable between rows. Every grade above is also recorded against its licensed entity on the RBNZ register of licensed insurers, read 15 August 2026. Check every licensed NZ insurer in our financial strength explorer.
Exclusions and things to note
Every point below comes from the OneChoice policy document or a named OneChoice page, with the date we read it. The policy wording governs any claim, not this page.
- Intentional self-inflicted injury is excluded for the first 13 months, both of the policy and of any increase in cover. Source: Policy Document, read 15 August 2026.
- Special terms can change the product materially. Underwriting can apply an accident-only period for the first 12 months, or a variant capping the benefit at $100,000. Either appears in your Policy Schedule. Source: Policy Document, read 15 August 2026.
- Serious Illness and TPD payments reduce your life cover by the amount paid, because both are accelerated benefits rather than standalone cover. Source: Policy Document, read 15 August 2026.
- Both options end at the policy anniversary after your 65th birthday. Source: Policy Document, read 15 August 2026.
- Serious Illness has a three-month qualifying period for newly apparent conditions, and a number of cancers are excluded from the cancer definition. Source: Policy Document, read 15 August 2026.
- The life benefit is capped by your age when cover starts. Anyone aged 60 to 70 is limited to $500,000. Source: Policy Document, read 15 August 2026.
- The life product uses stepped premiums, which the wording says increase each year as risk increases with age. Source: Policy Document, read 15 August 2026.
- The funeral product is accidental-only for the first 12 months, and OneChoice's own footnote states the total paid over a policy's life can exceed the cover amount. Source: OneChoice funeral insurance, read 15 August 2026.
Who OneChoice may suit, and when advised cover wins
OneChoice makes the most sense for people who want real cover in place quickly. That means no medical tests, a defined lump sum for a mortgage or family protection, a straightforward health history, and the whole thing done in one phone call. Cover for death by any cause from acceptance is genuine protection, backed by a licensed insurer.
Advised cover tends to win when:
- Health disclosures are complicated. Full underwriting settles where you stand up front, and an adviser can place non-standard histories with the insurer most likely to accept them.
- You want trauma or TPD that does not cannibalise your life cover. Standalone living benefits are an advised-market strength. OneChoice's extras are accelerated and end at 65.
- You are insuring for the long haul. Stepped versus level pricing deserves modelling, not a slogan.
- You need more than the age caps allow. Anyone aged 60 or over is limited to $500,000.
- You want an advocate at claim time. A direct policyholder deals with the insurer alone.
Our guide to New Zealand's life insurers and our review of no-medical life insurance options put the model in market context.
Frequently asked questions
Is OneChoice life insurance good?
It is a legitimate simplified product whose fit depends on your situation. It suits phone-arranged cover for straightforward health histories. People with complex disclosures, long horizons, larger cover needs or a preference for standalone trauma and TPD will usually do better comparing the advised market. This page deliberately does not offer a universal answer.
Who underwrites OneChoice life insurance?
Every OneChoice policy is issued by Pinnacle Life Limited and distributed and promoted by Greenstone Financial Services NZ Limited. OneChoice is a Greenstone trading name, not an insurer. Pinnacle Life holds a B+ (Good) rating from A.M. Best, read 15 August 2026, and is on the RBNZ register. "Backed by Hannover Re" refers to reinsurance, not the issuer.
Is OneChoice the same company as NZ Seniors?
They are two brands of the same arrangement. Both are issued by Pinnacle Life Limited and distributed and promoted by Greenstone Financial Services NZ Limited, per identical disclosure wording in each brand's website footer, read 15 August 2026.
Does OneChoice cover you from day one?
The life product covers death by any cause from acceptance, excluding intentional self-inflicted injury in the first 13 months. Depending on underwriting, an accident-only first 12 months can apply as a special term in your Policy Schedule. Source: Policy Document, read 15 August 2026. The funeral product is accidental-only for the first 12 months by design.
Compare before you sign
A OneChoice call cannot tell you what the rest of the market would offer you, by design. Put the product beside the advised market in our insurer comparison tool, and read how life insurance works in New Zealand before you buy. If you would rather have it done for you, have your options reviewed, including whether a direct product is in fact the right answer.
What we could not verify
We record gaps rather than guessing. As at 15 August 2026: no published claims statistics exist for the OneChoice-branded life product specifically; the OneChoice website reproduces Pinnacle Life's grade without an effective date, and the 15 April 2026 date comes from Pinnacle's own financial-strength page; and Greenstone's ultimate group ownership is not stated in the documents we reviewed. Premium rates are deliberately absent, because pricing is personal to your age, health and cover, and this site does not publish premium figures.
The current policy document on onechoice.co.nz supersedes this page wherever they differ. Neither OneChoice, Greenstone nor Pinnacle Life is on QuoteHub's advice panel, and there is no commercial relationship behind this page. This article is general information, not personalised financial advice. Financial advice is provided by Craig Smith Business Services Limited, trading as Smiths Insurance & KiwiSaver, a licensed Financial Advice Provider (FSP712931). QuoteHub is a trading name. Henry Smith is a Financial Adviser (FSP1010699).
References
- OneChoice, Life Insurance product page, read 15 August 2026 (eligibility ages 16 to 70, cover $100,000 to $2 million, $10,000 funeral advance, terminal illness benefit, optional Serious Illness and TPD cover)
- OneChoice, Life Insurance Policy Document, issue date 24 October 2021, read 15 August 2026 (issuer structure, exclusions, benefit caps by age, accelerated add-ons, stepped premiums, special terms)
- OneChoice, Financial Advice Disclosure Statement, prepared 3 June 2024, read 15 August 2026 (Greenstone trading-name status, advice scope limits, commission of up to 76.63% of each premium, IFSO membership)
- OneChoice, Funeral Insurance product page, read 15 August 2026 (guaranteed acceptance ages 18 to 79, accidental-only first 12 months, level pricing footnote)
- Pinnacle Life, Our financial strength, read 15 August 2026 (B+ (Good) financial strength, bbb- issuer credit rating, stable outlook, at 15 April 2026)
- Pinnacle Life, About us, read 15 August 2026 (Hannover Life Re of Australasia reinsurance, RBNZ and FMA licence statements)
- Pinnacle Life, Life insurance page, read 15 August 2026 (94.4% of claims paid as at 25 May 2026)
- Reserve Bank of New Zealand, Register of licensed insurers, read 15 August 2026 (Pinnacle Life Limited licensed 29 April 2013, rating record, peer insurer ratings)
- NZ Seniors, Funeral insurance, read 15 August 2026 (products issued by Pinnacle Life Limited, distributed and promoted by Greenstone Financial Services NZ Limited)
Disclaimer: This article is general market information only and does not constitute personalised financial advice. QuoteHub has no commercial relationship with OneChoice, Greenstone or Pinnacle Life. Financial advice is provided by Craig Smith Business Services Limited, trading as Smiths Insurance & KiwiSaver, a licensed Financial Advice Provider (FSP712931). QuoteHub is a trading name. Insurance products are subject to underwriting, and terms, conditions, exclusions and stand-down periods apply. Features described were current at the dates above and are subject to change, so always check the current policy documents.
Further reading
- Financial Markets Authority, consumer guidance
- Sorted.org.nz, protecting your wealth
- Insurance and Financial Services Ombudsman
- Insurance Council of New Zealand
Read the full insurance guides
Compare your cover with a licensed NZ adviser · free, no obligation.
Explore related pages: Life Insurance, Income Protection, Health Insurance, Trauma Insurance, What You Get.