Analysis
Three Health Insurers, Three Different Rules On When You Must Ask First
Source: Southern Cross, nib and UniMed member pages
Southern Cross and UniMed require prior approval once treatment passes $1,000 or involves a hospital. nib only recommends it. And of the three, only UniMed publishes how long a decision takes.
By Henry Smith · Health system · 2026-09-09
What this means for you If you have moved between health insurers, the rule you are carrying in your head may belong to your old one. Two of the three insurers here treat approval before treatment as a requirement and one treats it as advice, and the consequence of getting that wrong is that the cover question is settled after you are committed to the cost rather than before. Only UniMed publishes how long it takes to answer, at three working days rising to five.
Every New Zealand health insurer runs the same two step process. You ask before expensive treatment, and you claim after cheap treatment. What none of them says, because none of them has any reason to, is that the line between those two steps sits in a different place depending on who you are insured with, and that the word one insurer uses for a requirement is the word another uses for a suggestion.
This piece reads what Southern Cross, nib and UniMed each publish on their own member pages, on 9 September 2026, and puts the three side by side. Nothing here is an assessment of any insurer's claims handling, which we are in no position to judge. It is a description of what a member can find out before they need it.
The threshold is the same number and not the same rule
All three insurers landed on $1,000. Only two of them mean it.
Southern Cross states the position as an instruction: "Prior approval is needed when any hospitalisation is involved or treatment costs over $1000" (Southern Cross, claiming and cover, read 9 September 2026).
UniMed puts the same threshold as two questions, and then answers them for you. If the procedure is "likely to cost $1,000 or more" or "likely to require hospitalisation", then "you will need to apply for prior approval first". It adds that requests under $1,000 are welcome anyway if you want to check you are covered (UniMed, making a claim, read 9 September 2026).
nib uses the same number and a different verb. Its claims guide says "we strongly recommend seeking pre-approval for surgical claims and other claims over $1,000" (nib, how to claim, read 9 September 2026). Its help centre goes further into what to do and never converts the recommendation into a requirement: pre-approval is "a good idea" for outpatient and hospital treatment, and is not needed for everyday care (nib, getting your treatment costs pre-approved, read 9 September 2026).
The practical difference is smaller than it looks and larger than it sounds. Skipping a recommended step does not void anything at nib. What it does is move the moment you find out what is covered from before you commit to after, which is the entire function of the step at all three insurers.
Only one of the three tells you how long it takes
This is the gap that matters most and the one nobody fills.
UniMed publishes a number: "We aim to process prior approval requests within three working days of receiving all your information, but it may take up to five working days" (UniMed, making a claim, read 9 September 2026). Note where the clock starts. It starts when the file is complete, not when you first submit, which is why UniMed also spells out what to send: an estimate of costs for every part of the procedure, plus the referral or specialist letter saying what the treatment is and why it is necessary.
Southern Cross publishes no approval turnaround. It publishes a three working day response time, but that is for an online enquiry, which is a different thing. What it does publish is a cliff edge: if the healthcare service is taking place within the next five days, phone rather than use the portal (Southern Cross, claiming and cover, read 9 September 2026).
nib publishes no turnaround either. It commits to confirming the outcome by phone or email and to showing progress in its member portal at any time, and it has the same five day urgency path (nib, how to claim, read 9 September 2026).
Two of three insurers therefore tell you to hurry if treatment is within five days, without telling you how long they normally take. That asymmetry is why the most visible public answer to "how long does health insurance pre-approval take in New Zealand" is a discussion thread rather than an insurer.
What each insurer asks you to send
The three lists are close enough that one habit covers all of them, which is worth knowing because an incomplete request is the most common reason a decision is slow.
| Southern Cross | nib | UniMed | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Approval before treatment | Required over $1,000 or any hospitalisation | Strongly recommended for surgery and over $1,000 | Required at $1,000 or more, or hospitalisation |
| Published turnaround | Not published | Not published | Three working days, up to five |
| Cost estimate | Asked for on the cover check form | Quote or supporting document showing total estimated cost | Estimate covering all parts of the procedure |
| Referral or specialist letter | Asks what treatment, which provider, and the symptoms that made it necessary | Referral letter or medical report, plus specialist consultation letter if there is one | Referral or specialist letter confirming what and why |
| ACC decision letter | Not specified | Asked for if applicable | Not specified |
| Urgent path | Phone if within five days | Separate path if within five days | Contact directly for urgent requests |
Sources, all read 9 September 2026: Southern Cross claiming and cover, nib how to claim, nib pre-approval help centre, UniMed making a claim.
Two smaller things sit outside the table and cost people money.
UniMed publishes a trigger that the other two do not. A medical report from your GP may be required "if you have personal exclusions listed on your Membership Certificate or have had your policy with us for less than five years" (UniMed, making a claim, read 9 September 2026). Being asked is routine on a newer policy rather than a sign of trouble, but it adds a step, and the three day clock has not started while it is outstanding.
nib publishes the one financial mechanism in this whole area that is genuinely easy to miss. Inside its First Choice network, it says you have certainty of 100% of eligible costs up to your benefit limits, less any excess. Outside it, for a recognised provider, nib pays "reasonable costs (the Efficient Market Price)", and "you will have to cover any additional costs charged by your specialist, surgeon or hospital" (nib, how to claim, read 9 September 2026). Approval will still be given outside the network. It will be given at nib's figure, not the surgeon's.
The thing approval actually buys
At all three insurers, approval does the same two jobs, and only one of them is about certainty.
The first is the written answer: what is covered, and on what conditions, such as an excess. The second is who pays whom. UniMed says approval means that in most cases it can pay your healthcare provider directly, so you are not paying and claiming back (UniMed, making a claim, read 9 September 2026). nib says that with a valid pre-approval the health partner can invoice nib directly, so there may be no claim to make at all (nib, how to claim, read 9 September 2026).
For anyone who does not have several thousand dollars sitting spare, that second job is the more important one, and it is available at every insurer here including the one that only recommends the step.
What couldn't we check?
The insurers' published member pages are not the policy. Every one of these documents is a summary written for the public, and the wording that governs any individual claim is in that member's own plan document and certificate. UniMed says this directly: the version of the health plan that applies depends on the cover start or renewal date, and group cover through an employer can vary through special joining concessions.
We did not test any of it. Nothing in this piece reports how any insurer behaved on a real claim, how often approval is declined, or how long a decision took in practice. Only UniMed publishes a target, and a published target is not a measured outcome.
We could not find published approval turnarounds for Southern Cross or nib, and their absence is not evidence that internal targets do not exist. It is evidence that they are not published, which is the market norm rather than anything specific to either insurer.
We have not spoken to any of the three. Everything here is from pages they publish for members, read on 9 September 2026, and an insurer can change a published process without announcing it.
QuoteHub places cover with Southern Cross and nib and does not place cover with UniMed, so we have no standing on a UniMed policy and could not act on one.
What this means for your cover
Public waiting lists and what private treatment costs are the two numbers health cover is bought against. Health insurance in New Zealand
Sources
Every source below was read and checked on 21 August 2026.
- Southern Cross Health Society, claiming and cover, the prior approval threshold, the five day rule, portal claim history and contact hours, read 9 September 2026
- nib, health insurance claim and how to claim, the First Choice network, the Efficient Market Price, the pre-approval recommendation and the document checklist, read 9 September 2026
- nib help centre, how do I get my treatment costs pre-approved, what needs approval and what does not, read 9 September 2026
- UniMed, making a claim, the two thresholds, the published three to five working day turnaround, the medical report trigger and the receipt rules, read 9 September 2026
- UniMed, important documents, which plan version applies and how group cover can vary, read 9 September 2026
Talk to a licensed adviser about what this means for you · free, no obligation.
Explore related pages: Life Insurance, Income Protection, Health Insurance, Trauma Insurance, What You Get.