Pinnacle Life
Issues the NZ Seniors and OneChoice policies as well as its own, so three brands you may have seen are the same insurer.
Reviewed by Henry Smith, Financial Adviser (FSP1010699). Updated 17 September 2026.
Who owns and underwrites Pinnacle Life
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Who underwrites it | Pinnacle Life Limited |
| Who owns it | Not published |
| Financial strength | B+ (A.M. Best) (source, read 14 Aug 2026) |
| How you can buy | Direct only |
QuoteHub’s read. Pinnacle Life is the licensed insurer behind OneChoice and NZ Seniors as well as its own brand, rated B+ (Good) by A.M. Best with Greenstone Holdco named as its ultimate parent; cover runs to $2 million by phone, it reports 94.4% of claims paid, and its trauma and disability covers are add-ons that reduce the life sum.
Pinnacle Life reviewed
Reviewed and updated 17 September 2026 by Henry Smith, Financial Adviser (FSP1010699), for the QuoteHub adviser team. The tables above are register records; this section is our read of them.
Verdict (2026)
Pinnacle Life is a credible, unusually transparent online insurer for self-directed buyers with simple needs. Its policies are plainly written, sample wordings are published, and cover can be in place within minutes. Two things count against it for a policy you may hold for decades. Its financial strength grade sits below the A-range grades of New Zealand's advised insurers, and buying direct means nobody compares the market, structures the cover or argues your case at claim time. Its published claims figure also comes with no denominator.
Pros and cons
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Publishes sample policy wordings and plain-English drafting (life insurance page) | The B+ (Good) grade sits below the A-range grades of the advised insurers |
| Publishes the rating with an affirmation date, 15 April 2026 | Ownership is not stated anywhere on its website |
| Cover has no expiry age and continues while premiums are paid (life insurance page) | Online applications are capped below the phone maximum |
| Publishes solvency and names its reinsurer (financial strength) | Reinsurance spreads risk, it does not lift the insurer's own grade |
| 30-day money-back guarantee, and added benefits on policies issued after November 2024 | The 94.4% claims-paid figure has no published denominator or product split |
| A quote in about 30 seconds and cover in about 10 minutes for straightforward answers | Buying direct means no market comparison, no structuring and no claims advocate |
The online model: when your health is assessed
Pinnacle's pitch is speed. It advertises a quote in 30 seconds from your gender, age and smoking status, and cover in about 10 minutes if your health answers are straightforward. Most customers are not asked for a medical exam, though Pinnacle may request doctor's information, an exam or a blood test where an application needs it. Source: pinnaclelife.co.nz/life-insurance, read 15 August 2026.
A fast application does not mean no underwriting. Your answers to the health and lifestyle questions are the underwriting, and they decide how a claim is assessed later. Pinnacle says this itself. Its 94.4% claims-paid figure, as at 25 May 2026, is conditioned on accurate information at application, premiums paid on time, and keeping the insurer updated. The figure is published without a denominator or product split, so treat it as the insurer's own headline rather than an audited statistic. Answering every question fully protects your family's claim more than any product feature on this page.
The three-brand nexus: Pinnacle behind OneChoice and NZ Seniors
Pinnacle Life issues considerably more cover than its own brand suggests, and almost nobody who sees the ads knows it. Both OneChoice and NZ Seniors, two of the most heavily advertised direct insurance brands in the country, state in their own website footers that their products are "issued by Pinnacle Life Limited" and "distributed and promoted by Greenstone Financial Services NZ Limited". Sources: onechoice.co.nz and nzseniors.co.nz, both read 15 August 2026. Pinnacle's about-us page lists both brands among the organisations it works with.
The practical consequence is that one insurer stands behind three consumer brands, and the financial-strength question for all three is answered by the same B+ (Good) grade. OneChoice's "backed by Hannover Re" line refers to Pinnacle's reinsurer, not the issuer. If you are weighing a OneChoice policy, our OneChoice life insurance review covers that product's wording.

Exclusions and things to note
Every point below comes from a named Pinnacle Life page, with the date we read it. The policy wording governs any claim, not this page.
- Suicide is excluded for the first 13 months and covered from month 14. Source: Pinnacle Life insurance page, read 15 August 2026.
- Further exclusions can be applied to your policy depending on your health and lifestyle answers. Source: Pinnacle Life insurance page, read 15 August 2026.
- Applying online caps your cover. Online cover runs from $100,000 to $1.5 million, against $50,000 to $2 million overall. Source: Pinnacle Life insurance page, read 15 August 2026.
- Entry ages differ by channel and by product. Online is 20 to 69 and phone is 18 to 74. Income Protection is 20 to 59, and Critical Conditions and Disability Cover can be applied for online at 20 to 59 only alongside a life application. Source: Pinnacle Life insurance page, read 15 August 2026.
- The extra benefits apply only to policies issued after November 2024. They include the advance funeral payment, child funeral payment, advice and counselling cover, and the hardship suspension. Source: Pinnacle Life insurance page, read 15 August 2026.
- The 94.4% claims-paid figure has no published denominator, period breakdown or product split, and is conditioned on accurate information at application. Source: Pinnacle Life insurance page, read 15 August 2026.
- Reinsurance is not the insurer's own strength. Hannover Life Re of Australasia reinsures Pinnacle, which spreads risk but does not change Pinnacle's grade. Source: About us, read 15 August 2026.
- The premium structure over time is not stated on the pages we read. Confirm whether your cover is stepped or level in the quote process and your policy document. Source: Pinnacle Life insurance page, read 15 August 2026.
What we could not verify
Recorded as gaps, not guesses, as at 15 August 2026. Pinnacle Life's current ownership is not stated on its website, and a Companies Office search would resolve it. Its 94.4% claims-paid figure has no published denominator, period breakdown or product split. The premium structure over time, stepped or level, is not stated on the pages we reviewed, so confirm it in the quote process and your policy document. No premium figures appear in this review as a matter of policy.
Pinnacle's current pages and policy documents supersede this review wherever they differ, and the rating line is re-checked quarterly and on any update. Pinnacle Life is not on QuoteHub's advice panel, so this page is market information only. This article is general information, not personalised financial advice. Financial advice is provided by Craig Smith Business Services Limited, trading as Smiths Insurance & KiwiSaver, a licensed Financial Advice Provider (FSP712931). QuoteHub is a trading name. Henry Smith is a Financial Adviser (FSP1010699).
References
- Reserve Bank of New Zealand, Register of licensed insurers, read 15 August 2026 (Pinnacle Life Limited licensed 29 April 2013, rating record, peer insurer ratings, register kept under s54A IPSA, ratings required under s60)
- Pinnacle Life, Our financial strength, read 15 August 2026 (B+ (Good) financial strength and bbb- issuer credit rating, stable outlook, at 15 April 2026, the agency scale, Rimu Statutory Fund, solvency margin $8.352m and ratio 112.3% at 31 March 2026)
- Pinnacle Life, Life insurance, read 15 August 2026 (cover amounts, entry ages, terminal illness benefit, suicide exclusion months 1 to 13, additional benefits on post-November-2024 policies, 30-day refund, 94.4% of claims paid as at 25 May 2026)
- Pinnacle Life, About us, read 15 August 2026 (founded 1998 by Noel Vaughan, RBNZ insurance licence, FMA licences, Hannover Life Re of Australasia reinsurance, OneChoice and NZ Seniors partnerships)
- OneChoice, website footer, read 15 August 2026 (products issued by Pinnacle Life Limited, distributed and promoted by Greenstone Financial Services NZ Limited)
- NZ Seniors, Funeral insurance, read 15 August 2026 (identical issuer and distributor disclosure)
- Insurance and Financial Services Ombudsman Scheme, participant search, read 8 September 2026
Disclaimer: This article is general market information only and does not constitute personalised financial advice. QuoteHub has no commercial relationship with Pinnacle Life. Financial advice is provided by Craig Smith Business Services Limited, trading as Smiths Insurance & KiwiSaver, a licensed Financial Advice Provider (FSP712931). QuoteHub is a trading name. Insurance products are subject to underwriting, and terms, conditions, exclusions and stand-down periods apply. Features described were current at the dates above and are subject to change, so always check the current policy documents.
Pinnacle Life at a glance
| Fact | What the register holds |
|---|---|
| Licensed entity | Pinnacle Life Limited (NZBN 9429030397248) |
| Owner | Not published |
| What they write | Life Insurance, Income Protection, Critical Conditions Cover, Disability Cover |
| How you can buy | Direct only |
| Financial strength | B+ (A.M. Best) (source, read 14 Aug 2026) |
| Rating as at | 15 Apr 2026 |
| On the QuoteHub panel | No, we do not place cover with them |
| Complaints | Financial Dispute Resolution Service, free for consumers |
What Pinnacle Life writes
| Cover | What it pays |
|---|---|
| Life Insurance | A lump sum to the people you name, paid on death or a terminal diagnosis. |
| Income Protection | A monthly benefit while illness or injury stops you earning, after a waiting period. |
| Critical Conditions Cover | A lump sum on diagnosis of one of 38 listed conditions, sold only alongside Life Insurance and paid out of it. |
| Disability Cover | A lump sum if you are totally and permanently disabled, sold only alongside Life Insurance and paid out of it. |
Is Pinnacle Life a fit for you?
The reasons to shortlist it, and the catches to check first. Every line below is read from a Pinnacle Life document, linked with the date.
Check these before you choose
- Not guaranteed acceptance. Most applicants don't need a medical exam, but Pinnacle Life can still request a doctor's report, blood test or medical exam depending on health and lifestyle answers. (source, Life Insurance page, pinnaclelife.co.nz, read 16 September 2026)
- Application age depends on channel. Applying online is available from age 20 to 69; applying by phone extends the age range to 18 to 74 (elsewhere the same page states cover is offered to ages 18 to 75). (source, Life Insurance page, pinnaclelife.co.nz, read 16 September 2026)
- Who owns Pinnacle now. A.M. Best's April 2026 rating affirmation, published on Pinnacle's own site, names Greenstone Holdco Pty Limited as Pinnacle Life's ultimate parent: the Australian group behind the OneChoice and NZ Seniors brands, which Pinnacle issues. (source, A.M. Best affirms credit ratings of Pinnacle Life Limited (media release PDF, 15 April 2026, pinnaclelife.co.nz), read 16 September 2026)
Pinnacle Life could fit
If one or more of these look like your situation.
- Larger cover amounts. Cover runs up to $2 million if applying by phone, or up to $1.5 million if applying online — higher than the caps on the OneChoice and NZ Seniors brands Pinnacle Life also underwrites. (source, Life Insurance page, pinnaclelife.co.nz, read 16 September 2026)
Compare more carefully
If any of these apply, it is worth a closer look at the rest of the panel.
- Trauma and disability are add-ons, not standalone. Critical Conditions Cover and Disability Cover can only be bought alongside Pinnacle's Life Insurance, and both are accelerated payments that reduce the Life Insurance sum by the amount paid. (source, Critical Conditions Cover page, pinnaclelife.co.nz, read 16 September 2026)
- No funeral cover under this brand directly. Pinnacle Life's own site lists Life Insurance, Income Protection, Critical Conditions and Disability Cover; it does not list a funeral cover product under the Pinnacle Life brand itself. (source, Help with life insurance FAQs, pinnaclelife.co.nz, read 16 September 2026)
- Financial strength rating sits below the top tier. A.M. Best rates Pinnacle Life Limited B+ (Good) for financial strength and bbb- for issuer credit (outlook stable), as at 15 April 2026. (source, Our Financial Strength page, pinnaclelife.co.nz, read 16 September 2026)
Waiting periods, limits and ages
The numbers worth checking before you compare, read from Pinnacle Life’s own documents.
Life Insurance: $50,000 to $2 million
Online or phone-arranged life cover for New Zealanders, using health and lifestyle questions rather than a medical exam for most applicants.
- Apply online if aged 20 to 69, or by phone if aged 18 to 74 (the same page also separately states Pinnacle Life offers cover 'to people aged between 18 and 75').
- Choose cover from $50,000 up to $2 million; online applications are limited to between $100,000 and $1.5 million.
- Health and lifestyle questions are asked instead of a medical exam for most applicants; cover can be arranged in as little as 10 minutes depending on the answers given.
- Most customers don't need a medical exam, but Pinnacle Life states it may occasionally request a doctor's report, medical exam or blood test to assess an application.
- Not guaranteed acceptance — a medical exam, blood test or doctor's report can still be requested depending on the health and lifestyle answers given.
Source: Life Insurance page, pinnaclelife.co.nz, read 16 September 2026.
Income Protection: Up to 75% of pre-tax income
Pinnacle's Income Protection pays a monthly amount if illness or injury stops you working, after your chosen waiting period.
- Apply from age 20 to 59, living and working in New Zealand, in paid work for the past two years (self-employed applicants need an average of 30 or more hours a week over those two years).
- Pays up to 75% of your pre-tax income each month.
- Payments start after your chosen waiting period and run until the chosen claim period ends, you return to work, or you turn 65.
Source: Income Protection page, pinnaclelife.co.nz, read 16 September 2026.
Critical Conditions Cover: Up to $625,000, 38 conditions
An add-on to Pinnacle's Life Insurance that pays a lump sum on diagnosis of one of 38 specified critical conditions.
- Can only be bought alongside Life Insurance; apply online from age 20 to 59.
- Pays a tax-free lump sum of up to $625,000 if you are diagnosed with one of 38 specified critical conditions.
- It is an accelerated payment: your Life Insurance reduces by the amount paid out.
- Cover ends on the last day of the month you turn 70.
- Older Pinnacle policyholders may hold a discontinued Critical Illness (24 conditions) or Serious Illness (4 conditions) policy instead; those are not sold today.
Source: Critical Conditions Cover page, pinnaclelife.co.nz, read 16 September 2026.
Disability Cover: Up to $1 million
An add-on to Pinnacle's Life Insurance that pays a lump sum if you become totally and permanently disabled and unable to work.
- Can only be bought alongside Life Insurance; apply online from age 20 to 59.
- Pays a tax-free lump sum of up to $1 million if illness, accident or injury leaves you totally and permanently disabled and unable to work.
- It is an accelerated payment: your Life Insurance reduces by the amount paid out.
- Cover ends on the last day of the month you turn 65.
Source: Disability Cover page, pinnaclelife.co.nz, read 16 September 2026.
Claims paid: 94.4% of claims paid
Claims figures as stated by Pinnacle Life, as at 25 May 2026.
- 94.4% of the claims made on Pinnacle Life policies have been paid, as at 25 May 2026.
- 3,272 claims paid, totalling $115.5 million.
- 58% of claims made relate to cancer or heart conditions.
Source: Claims page, pinnaclelife.co.nz, read 16 September 2026.
Financial strength: B+ (Good), A.M. Best
Pinnacle Life Limited's financial strength and issuer credit ratings, as stated by the insurer.
- A.M. Best rates Pinnacle Life Limited 'B+' financial strength (Good) and a 'bbb-' issuer credit rating, outlook stable, as at 15 April 2026.
- Policy transactions are referable to the Rimu Statutory Fund.
- Pinnacle Life Limited holds a Financial Advice Provider (FAP) licence and a Financial Institution (FI) licence from the FMA, and an insurance licence from the Reserve Bank of New Zealand under the Insurance (Prudential Supervision) Act 2010.
- B+ (Good) sits one tier below A.M. Best's 'Excellent' rating band.
Source: Our Financial Strength page, pinnaclelife.co.nz, read 16 September 2026.
What it costs
QuoteHub does not quote or place cover with Pinnacle Life. Compare the insurers we do quote.
How Pinnacle Life compares on financial strength
Financial strength is the one comparable published fact about an insurer. Every grade below is the insurer's own disclosure for the named licensed entity, linked and dated. A rating belongs to that entity, not to a brand or a product name.
| Insurer | Licensed entity | Financial strength | Rating as at |
|---|---|---|---|
| AIA New Zealand | AIA New Zealand Limited | AA (Fitch, source, read 14 Aug 2026) | Date not published |
| Asteron Life | Asteron Life Limited | A+ (Fitch, source, read 14 Aug 2026) | Date not published |
| Chubb Life NZ | Chubb Life Insurance New Zealand Limited | A (Excellent) (A.M. Best, source, read 14 Aug 2026) | Date not published |
| Fidelity Life | Fidelity Life Assurance Company Limited | A- (A.M. Best, source, read 14 Aug 2026) | Date not published |
| Momentum Life | Momentum Life Limited (FSP472286) | B (Fair) (A.M. Best, source, read 14 Aug 2026) | 11 Feb 2026 |
| Partners Life | Partners Life Limited | A (Excellent) (A.M. Best, source, read 14 Aug 2026) | 5 Feb 2026 |
The whole register, every insurer with its legal entity, owner, grade, effective date and source, is a dated dataset you can download: nz-insurer-financial-strength-2026-09-17.csv.
What Pinnacle Life publishes
Pinnacle Life does not publish a policy wording we can link from here. Ask for the wording before you apply: a brochure is not the contract.
Pinnacle Life plans
| Plan | What it is |
|---|---|
| OneChoice | The Greenstone-distributed brand Pinnacle Life underwrites, sold direct by phone and online. |
Questions about Pinnacle Life
Who is Pinnacle Life?
Issues the NZ Seniors and OneChoice policies as well as its own, so three brands you may have seen are the same insurer. The licensed entity behind the policies is Pinnacle Life Limited (NZBN 9429030397248).
Who owns Pinnacle Life?
. Ownership matters because it decides who carries the risk behind a claim, not how a claim is assessed.
Is Pinnacle Life financially strong?
Pinnacle Life Limited (NZBN 9429030397248) holds a B+ rating from A.M. Best, read from the insurer's own disclosure on 14 Aug 2026. A rating is an independent view of the ability to pay claims. It says nothing about what a policy covers or what it costs.
Can I buy Pinnacle Life cover without an adviser?
Both routes exist. You can go direct, or use a licensed adviser who can put Pinnacle Life next to the other insurers on the same set of details.
What does Pinnacle Life cover?
Life Insurance, Income Protection, Critical Conditions Cover, Disability Cover. What each of those pays, and what it excludes, is set by the policy wording rather than by the marketing page, which is why the documents are listed on this page with the date we read them.
Where can I read Pinnacle Life's policy wording?
Pinnacle Life does not publish a policy wording we can link. Ask for it before you apply: the wording is the contract.
Is Pinnacle Life the cheapest?
No insurer is cheapest for everyone. Price depends on your age, your health and an underwriting decision that has not happened yet, so a comparison that leads with price compares the wrong thing. The published limits and definitions are what can be compared, and they are on this page.
How does Pinnacle Life compare with the other insurers?
The financial strength table on this page puts every insurer we compare side by side, with the agency, the grade and the date. The benefit limits sit on the comparison page, and a licensed adviser can run your own details across the panel.
Does QuoteHub work with Pinnacle Life?
No. Pinnacle Life is not on the QuoteHub panel, so we cannot quote or arrange their cover. This page exists because the company is worth understanding if you hold one of their policies or are considering one, not because we sell it. The insurers we can place are published on the disclosure page.
What should I check before applying to Pinnacle Life?
The stand-down period, the exclusions that apply to your own history, whether the premium is stepped or level, and what happens at renewal. All four are in the wording and none of them is in a price.
What plans does Pinnacle Life offer?
OneChoice. Each has its own page here setting out what it pays and what it does not.
Does Pinnacle Life cover pre-existing conditions?
Not automatically. An existing condition is either excluded, loaded or accepted on its own terms, and that decision is made at underwriting on your own history. What matters is what you disclose, because non-disclosure is the most common reason a claim is declined.
Are Pinnacle Life premiums stepped or level?
Both structures exist in the New Zealand market. Stepped rises with your age each year and costs less at the start; level holds a rate to a chosen age and costs more early and less later. Which is cheaper over the life of the policy depends on how long you keep it, not on the insurer.
Can I move to Pinnacle Life from another insurer?
Yes, but moving means new underwriting, so anything that has happened to your health since you took the old policy is assessed again. Never cancel the old cover until the new policy is issued and you have read what it excludes.
Does Pinnacle Life pay claims quickly?
Claims-paid percentages and payment times are published by some New Zealand insurers and not by others, on different bases, which is why we publish the figure only where the insurer publishes it with a period. Where we hold one it appears on the review page for that insurer.
Is Pinnacle Life regulated in New Zealand?
Yes. A licensed insurer is regulated by the Reserve Bank of New Zealand, and the advice about a policy is regulated separately by the Financial Markets Authority. Those are two different licences and both matter.
What happens to my Pinnacle Life policy if the company is sold?
A policy is a contract with the licensed entity, so it continues on its terms if ownership changes. New Zealand has seen several life books change hands, and the practical effect for existing policyholders is usually the servicing brand rather than the cover.
How much does Pinnacle Life cover cost?
We do not publish a price for an insurer on this page. A premium depends on age, health, smoking status, occupation, the cover amount and an underwriting decision, so a single figure would be wrong for almost everyone reading it.
Where can I get advice about Pinnacle Life?
A licensed financial adviser can compare it against the rest of the panel on your own details and tell you where it suits you and where it does not. QuoteHub is a trading name of a licensed Financial Advice Provider and the review is free.
How do I make a complaint about Pinnacle Life?
Raise it with the insurer first. If it is not resolved you can take it to the insurer's dispute resolution scheme at no cost. QuoteHub's own scheme is the Financial Dispute Resolution Service.
Where to go next
Pinnacle Life on this site
Reviews and comparisons
Other life insurers
- Partners Life
- AIA New Zealand
- Chubb Life NZ
- Fidelity Life
- Asteron Life
- Momentum Life
- Southern Cross Life
- OneChoice
- AA Life
- Resolution Life NZ
- NZ Seniors
- Booster Life
- Golden Insurance
- MAS
Health insurers
Compare and calculate
- Compare NZ insurers side by side
- Life insurance calculator
- Every insurer financial strength rating
- All calculators
Cover explained
- Life insurance in New Zealand
- Trauma cover in New Zealand
- Income protection in New Zealand
- Mortgage protection in New Zealand
What cover costs
- What life insurance costs in NZ
- Stepped versus level premiums
- The life insurers, in the order we would look at them
- Every published insurance number, with its source
Explore related pages: Life Insurance, Income Protection, Health Insurance, Trauma Insurance, Calculators.