How to get a Partners Life insurance quote

A Partners Life quote comes through a licensed financial adviser: the insurer's website directs visitors to "Find an adviser" and we found no public online quote-and-buy tool on the pages we read. The price depends on your age, sex, smoking status, the cover you choose and what your health and work history show once the insurer has underwritten you. A first estimate is not a final price.

In short

How do you obtain a Partners Life quote?

Partners Life sells through advisers. Its home page leads with a "Find an adviser" link, and its Who we are page describes its growth as built on partnerships with advisers. Partners Life does not publish its own step-by-step quote process, so the steps below describe the general adviser process that insurers such as Asteron and Fidelity set out, not a Partners Life procedure.

  1. Find a licensed adviser. Check the adviser's firm holds a Financial Advice Provider licence. See how to find an adviser.
  2. Fact-find. The adviser asks about your income, debts, dependants, existing cover, smoking, occupation and health.
  3. Indicative quote. The adviser compares insurers and gives an estimate based on the basic facts. Fidelity says its own pre-assessment "is not an offer of cover, nor a binding final assessment" (Fidelity underwriting guide, October 2025). Treat any first number as that kind of estimate.
  4. Application and disclosure. You answer the insurer's questions. Records from your doctor or tests may be requested.
  5. Underwriting decision. The insurer replies with an offer on standard terms, with a loading or exclusion, a postponement, or a decline.
  6. Acceptance and start date. You accept the final terms in writing and pay the first premium. Check the policy documents for any free-look period, because we found none published for Partners Life (cooling-off periods).

Why does Partners Life distribute through advisers?

The Daiichi Life Group describes Partners Life as selling mainly through the independent adviser channel (Daiichi notice, 3 September 2026). That is a commercial choice, and it changes who you deal with. A licensed adviser owes duties to the client under the Financial Markets Authority's regime, including making sure you understand the advice and putting your interests first in a conflict (FMA: Financial advice providers).

Advisers are paid by the insurer, not usually by you. The FMA says most insurance advisers receive commission, a percentage of your premium that is built into the premium, and must tell you how much. Some also charge a fee for complex needs (FMA: Insurance advice). Some insurers have a clawback period, usually two years, where the adviser repays part of the upfront commission if you cancel. See how advisers get paid. QuoteHub is a Momentum Life partner, and Smiths Insurance & KiwiSaver may receive a commission if you buy through our link (how we are paid).

What personal and health factors determine the price?

Five things move a life cover quote.

What the market range looks like, not the Partners Life price

The table shows the range across the insurers that priced each row in QuoteHub's Premium Index, where Partners Life is one of the panel. It is not a Partners Life figure. The basis: indicative monthly cost from insurers' published rate cards as at 8 September 2026, stepped premiums, non-smoker, occupation class 1, standard rates with no loadings or exclusions. Your own premium depends on underwriting. See the methodology.

Age Man, typical monthly cost for $500,000 cover Woman, typical monthly cost for $500,000 cover
30 $30 to $40 $20 to $30
40 $40 to $50 $35 to $40
50 $90 to $120 $80 to $100
60 $300 to $375 $225 to $275

Read the table as the shape of the curve, not as a quote. Add a health loading, a smoker status or a different structure and your own number moves.

How does medical underwriting affect the estimate?

Underwriting is the insurer's assessment of your risk. Asteron describes three routes through an adviser: non-underwritten, partly tailored or fully underwritten, with records and tests possible. When someone has an existing condition, Asteron says an insurer can often still offer cover by adding a stand-down, raising the premium, or excluding the condition permanently or for a set time (Asteron).

For build, one Partners Life underwriting change was reported in October 2024: no build exam or blood tests up to a BMI of 37.99 for applicants aged 30 or under on all benefits, and for others on life and medical cover if they have no cardiovascular risk factors such as diabetes, hypertension, hyperlipidaemia, fatty liver, sleep apnoea or early family heart disease (RiskinfoNZ, 17 October 2024). That is a trade press report from two years ago, so ask your adviser for the current rule. For comparison, Fidelity and Chubb need only an application or personal statement up to $500,000 at every age band, with medical evidence rising from $500,001 at 61 and over, and more if a condition is disclosed.

Underwriting is not only about the sum. The insurer's questions are how it finds the facts a claim will later be tested against. IFSO's published cases show insurers avoiding or reducing claims where material information was not disclosed, including a colon cancer case settled at half the life benefit, $95,664 (IFSO). We cite these as general illustrations; they are not stated to involve Partners Life. See non-disclosure in insurance.

From 15 November 2027 (not yet in force), the Contracts of Insurance Act 2024 replaces the current disclosure duty with a duty to take reasonable care not to make a misrepresentation. It also treats what you tell a "specified intermediary" as told to the insurer. QuoteHub arranges contracts and is paid commission, so health detail typed into a QuoteHub form would count as said to the insurer from that date (Act, ss 5, 13 and 16). Until then, answer every question fully.

What can you bundle into a quote?

Partners Life lists life, trauma, monthly disability, private medical, specific injury and total and permanent disability cover (Partners Life: Products). An adviser can quote several together, but each benefit is a separate risk to price. Trauma cover pays a lump sum on diagnosis of a defined condition, total and permanent disability pays if you are unlikely to ever work again, and income protection is a monthly benefit (Fidelity guide). Which ones you need is a question for your own situation. We publish no Partners Life prices for any of them.

Advisers versus direct online quotes

Neither route is better for everyone. A direct online quote is quick, but it covers one insurer's products and you find out how your answers were assessed after you apply. An adviser can compare insurers and pre-assess a complicated health history, but is paid by commission from the insurer, which the FMA says you should ask about. If you want a person in your corner at claim time, advice has value; if you know exactly what you want, a direct route can be enough. QuoteHub's comparison of broker and bank routes goes further.

How does Partners Life pricing compare with guaranteed acceptance?

Guaranteed acceptance means you are not asked health questions. It suits people who would be declined or heavily loaded elsewhere, or who want cover in place without questions. A healthy person can usually get more cover for less with fully underwritten cover through an adviser.

Underwritten (such as Partners Life) Momentum Quick Life
Health questions Yes, full disclosure No health questions or medical exam
Who sells it Licensed advisers Direct, or via a Momentum partner
Entry ages Set by the insurer; ask your adviser 18 to 65
Cover Set by underwriting and need $50,000 to $300,000 per life, indexed 3% a year to a $500,000 per-life cap
First 2 years Terms set by the wording Pre-existing conditions and suicide excluded; accidents and new conditions covered
Price basis Your age, sex, smoking, health, occupation, structure Age, gender, smoking status and benefit amount
Premiums Stepped or level, by choice Stepped to 75, then fixed

Momentum Life Limited (FSP472286) issues Quick Life. Its A.M. Best rating is B (Fair), in the range Momentum's own table calls "Vulnerable", and its solvency ratio was 107% at 30 June 2026 (Momentum: Financial strength). Both products restrict the first two years, in different ways. Pre-existing conditions under Quick Life include illness, conditions or symptoms in the 2 years before the start, plus markers such as a BMI over 40 or cholesterol over 7.0 (Quick Life wording, November 2025). Total premiums can add up to more than the benefit, so compare the policies on the facts. Our guide to guaranteed acceptance versus full medical sets out the choice, the Quick Life plan page has Momentum's details, and the eligibility checker tests the age and residency rules.

What to prepare for an adviser session

For a first idea of costs across insurers, read how much life insurance costs in NZ, and if you want a conversation, start a free comparison.

Frequently asked questions

Can I get a Partners Life quote online?

We found no public online quote-and-buy tool for Partners Life on the pages we read, and its site directs visitors to find an adviser. Some insurers do offer direct online quotes, and the experience differs.

How much does Partners Life cost?

There is no published rate card, and QuoteHub does not print a Partners Life premium. The table above is a market range, not a Partners Life price. Your own premium comes from underwriting.

Is the first estimate the price I will pay?

Not necessarily. An indicative estimate is not an offer, and underwriting can change it through a loading, an exclusion or a decline.

Do I pay the adviser for a quote?

The FMA says most insurance advisers are paid commission by the insurer, built into the premium, and some also charge a fee for complex needs. Ask for the amount and basis before you proceed.

What if I have a health condition?

Disclose it. Cover on different terms may be possible, depending on the condition and insurer, and nobody can promise acceptance. If you are declined, see life insurance after a decline.

References

Read the full insurance guides

Compare your cover with a licensed NZ adviser · free, no obligation.

Start your free comparison

Compare panel options first. A licensed NZ adviser can then review existing cover or help with an application.

Free, no obligation. Licensed NZ advisers · Craig Smith Business Services Ltd, FAP FSP712931.

Explore related pages: Life Insurance, Income Protection, Health Insurance, Trauma Insurance, Free Will.