What Southern Cross Life and Living Insurance covers
Everything in this section is from southerncrosslife.co.nz↗, read 8 September 2026.
- Life Cover of up to $1.5 million, paying the full amount if you pass away.
- Terminal Illness Benefit, an early payment of the full Life Cover amount if you are diagnosed with an illness or injury with a life expectancy of less than 12 months.
- Bereavement Support Benefit, an early payment on death of up to $25,000 of the Life Cover amount, to help with immediate costs such as funeral expenses.
- Financial and Legal Advice Benefit, reimbursing up to $2,500 towards financial planning or legal advice about using money received from a claim.
- Life Events Benefit, allowing an increase in cover on certain life events without a health assessment.
- Policy Enhancement Benefit, under which enhancements may be applied to policies automatically.
- A 30-day cancellation window. Cancel within 30 days of the policy starting and premiums paid are refunded.
Read the Bereavement Support Benefit carefully. It is an early payment of the Life Cover amount, not an addition to it, so the balance paid later is reduced accordingly.
The member discount, and what it is worth
Southern Cross publishes two discounts on this product: a 10% Southern Cross Health Society member discount, and a 10% Lifetime Reward for non-smokers who meet its BMI criteria. Source: southerncrosslife.co.nz↗, read 8 September 2026.
Alongside them sit the Client Benefits, worth up to $1,000 a year towards wellness advice, mental health counselling, addiction assistance, legal and financial advice, and career counselling. Those are practical additions that many competing policies do not include at no extra cost.
It is worth comparing against the same underwriter's own brand. Chubb Life's own Life and Living range↗ publishes a multi-benefit discount of 10% for Life plus one other cover and 12.5% for Life plus two, and a 15% Lifetime Reward for qualifying non-smokers running until 28 February 2027, read 14 August 2026. Same insurer, different discount structures, so the branded and unbranded routes are worth quoting side by side.

Exclusions and things to note
Every point below comes from the Southern Cross Life website or its legal disclosure, with the date we read it. The policy documents govern any claim, not this page.
- Southern Cross does not guarantee the underwriter's obligations. Its own words: if Chubb Life refuses your claim, Southern Cross will not be liable. Source: legal disclosure↗, read 8 September 2026.
- Chubb Life decides everything about your policy, including the claim. Southern Cross promotes and markets it. Source: legal disclosure↗, read 8 September 2026.
- Southern Cross receives a commission on any policies sold. Source: legal disclosure↗, read 8 September 2026.
- Even the quote tools are Chubb Life's. The cover calculator and the quote and application pages are hosted and provided by Chubb Life. Source: legal disclosure↗, read 8 September 2026.
- Life Cover is capped at $1.5 million. Source: southerncrosslife.co.nz↗, read 8 September 2026.
- The Bereavement Support Benefit reduces the final payout, because it is an early payment of up to $25,000 of the Life Cover amount. Source: southerncrosslife.co.nz↗, read 8 September 2026.
- Terminal illness requires a life expectancy of less than 12 months before the benefit pays. Source: southerncrosslife.co.nz↗, read 8 September 2026.
- The Lifetime Reward is conditional. It applies to non-smokers who meet the stated BMI criteria, and the member discount requires Southern Cross Health Society membership. Source: southerncrosslife.co.nz↗, read 8 September 2026.
Four things are not stated on the pages we read, and this review does not state them either: the premium structure over time, whether joint policies are available, entry and expiry ages, and any stand-down periods. Check them in the policy document before you buy.

The ACC gap: why life cover alone is not enough
ACC covers accidental injury and pays nothing for illness, no matter how long it keeps you out of work. In the year ended 30 June 2025 it paid $8,148 million in claims across 2,102,566 registered claims. Source: ACC Annual Report 2025↗, published 9 October 2025, read 18 August 2026. None of it went to illness.
Cancer, cardiovascular disease and mental health conditions sit entirely outside the ACC system. For the events most likely to stop a New Zealander working, ACC provides nothing. A complete protection plan usually needs life cover, income protection and often trauma cover working together, and Southern Cross Life covers only the first of those.
Where this sits with QuoteHub
Southern Cross is one of the insurers on QuoteHub's advice panel for health cover, and Chubb Life is on it for life cover. Both appear in the list of providers on our disclosure page. Financial advice is provided by Craig Smith Business Services Limited, trading as Smiths Insurance & KiwiSaver, a licensed Financial Advice Provider (FSP712931). QuoteHub is a trading name. Henry Smith is a Financial Adviser (FSP1010699). Details of how our advisers are paid are on the disclosure page.
That relationship does not change anything in this review, which is built from Southern Cross Life's and Chubb Life's own published documents and the Reserve Bank's register.

Limitations of this review
This review is built only from public documents. It states no premium figures, because pricing depends on your age, health, occupation, smoking status and cover structure. Four gaps are recorded rather than guessed: the premium structure over time, whether joint policies are available, entry and expiry ages, and stand-down periods. An earlier version of this review carried pricing and product claims attributed to third-party comparison sites that we could not verify from a primary source, plus constructed customer scenarios. Both have been removed. Details were current at the dates shown and change without notice. The policy documents, not this page, govern any claim.
References
- Southern Cross Life Insurance, Legal disclosure↗, read 8 September 2026 (promoted and marketed by Southern Cross Insurance Services Limited, underwritten and administered by Chubb Life Insurance New Zealand Limited, responsible for all claims, no guarantee of Chubb Life's obligations, commission received, quote and application pages hosted by Chubb Life)
- Southern Cross Life Insurance, southerncrosslife.co.nz↗, read 8 September 2026 (Life Cover up to $1.5 million, Terminal Illness Benefit, Bereavement Support Benefit up to $25,000, Financial and Legal Advice Benefit up to $2,500, Life Events Benefit, Policy Enhancement Benefit, 30-day cancellation, Client Benefits up to $1,000 a year, 10% member discount, 10% Lifetime Reward)
- Chubb Life New Zealand, Chubb Life financial strength↗, read 14 August 2026 (A (Excellent) A.M. Best rating for Chubb Life Insurance New Zealand Limited)
- Chubb Life New Zealand, Life and Living Insurance↗, read 14 August 2026 (own-brand multi-benefit discount and 15% Lifetime Reward to 28 February 2027)
- Chubb New Zealand, Chubb in New Zealand↗, read 14 August 2026 (Chubb Insurance New Zealand Limited is a separate general insurer with its own grade)
- Reserve Bank of New Zealand, Register of licensed insurers↗, read 15 August 2026 (rating agency and grade for Chubb Life, AIA, Asteron, Partners Life, Fidelity Life)
- Partners Life, This is Partners Life 2025 claims brochure↗, read 18 August 2026 (95% of assessed claims, April 2024 to March 2025)
- Fidelity Life, Claims we've paid↗, read 15 August 2026 (93% of new claims accepted, July 2024 to June 2025)
- Asteron Life, Life Insurer of the Year reports 97% claims payout rate↗, read 15 August 2026 (97% of trauma, life and income protection claims received, July 2023 to June 2024)
- ACC, Annual Report 2025↗, published 9 October 2025, read 18 August 2026 ($8,148 million in claims across 2,102,566 registered claims in the year to 30 June 2025)
- Insurance and Financial Services Ombudsman Scheme, participant search↗, read 8 September 2026
Disclaimer: This article is general information only and does not constitute personalised financial advice. Financial advice is provided by Craig Smith Business Services Limited, trading as Smiths Insurance & KiwiSaver, a licensed Financial Advice Provider (FSP712931). QuoteHub is a trading name. Insurance products are subject to underwriting, and terms, conditions, exclusions and stand-down periods apply. Features described were current at the dates above and are subject to change, so always check the current policy documents. For advice tailored to your circumstances, talk to a licensed financial adviser.